Delete synchronized Active Directory data

You can delete your synchronized Active Directory data.

Warning Don't delete your data if you want to change directory services.

Before deleting your data, make sure that you don't have any copies of AD Sync set to sync.

There are some exceptions to the data we delete in Sophos Central. We don't delete the following even if they came from Active Directory:

  • Managed devices and their associated users.
  • Adminstrators.

To delete your synchronized data, do as follows:

  1. Go to Overview > Global Settings > Directory service.
  2. Click Delete sync data.
  3. Choose the type of data you want to delete.
    • Users and user groups
    • Devices and device groups

    Choose both options if you want to remove all of your Active Directory data.

    Deletion options for Active Directory synced data
  4. Click Next.
  5. Read the notes regarding data deletion and click Confirm.
    We will delete your chosen data and won't synchronize that data with Active Directory again.

If you have deleted all your Active Directory data, you now need to manage your users, devices and groups in Sophos Central.