On the Logging & Reporting > Log Settings > Local Logging tab you can make the settings for local logging. Local logging is enabled by default.
However, to activate local logging in case it was disabled, proceed as follows:
On the Local Logging tab enable local logging.
Click the toggle switch.
The toggle switch turns green and the areas on this tab become editable.
Select a time frame when log files are to be deleted.
From the drop-down list select what action is to be applied automatically on log files. Never delete log files is selected by default.
Your settings will be saved.
The toggle switch turns green.
Here you can define thresholds for local logging which are bound to certain actions that are to be carried out if a threshold is reached. The following actions are available:
- Nothing: No actions will be initiated.
- Send notification: A notification will be sent to the administrator stating that the threshold was reached.
- Delete oldest log files: Oldest log files will be deleted until the remaining amount is below the configured threshold or until the log file archive is empty. In addition, a notification of that event will be sent to the administrator.
Shutdown system: The system will be shut down. A notification of that event will be sent to the administrator. In case of a system shutdown, the administrator has to change the configuration of the local logging, configure log file deletion or move away/delete log files manually. If the reason for the system shutdown persists, the system will shut down itself again the next time the log cleaning process runs, which happens daily at 12:00 AM (i.e., at midnight).
Click Apply to save your settings.