簡介

自 Sophos 成立之日起,安全性在我們所做的一切工作中,無論是內部還是外部,都是重中之重。正因為我們採用這種安全第一的方法,所以成千上萬的組織採用 Sophos 解決方案來保護數億台裝置的安全。

Sophos Central 是我們的旗艦級雲端型安全平台,旨在提供最進階的安全技術,同時確保有效且全面地保護客戶資料。

本文檔將詳細介紹 Sophos Central 的開發、部署和維護以及收集的資料、資料存儲位置、資料的保護方式以及 Sophos 爲向業界提供最進階、最強大的安全平台而採取的各種其他措施。

安全開發

安全應提前構想,絕不應事後考慮。這一點的關鍵在於 Sophos 基於活動的安全開發生命週期 (SDL)。SDL 在整個產品開發過程中都會實施業界領先的最佳實踐。

SDL 還要求所有產品開發團隊都擁有內嵌安全領導者和專家,負責推動團隊中的這些活動。以下是對一些活動的簡要說明。

每項活動的目的是在產品發佈前識別風險領域。這樣可以最大程度地延長工程團隊在向客戶運送產品和服務之前,處理問題所需的總時間。

安全編碼

為了防範並大幅減少軟體漏洞的意外引入,受過訓練的工程師可以找出並避免不安全的程式編碼和設計模式,並運用更具復原性的設計來取代它們。

漏洞相依性架構

若在產品中利用來自協力廠商的代碼(如開放原始碼軟體),每個團隊都會在架構中保留一份協力廠商相依性清單,該清單會在發佈 CVE 時自動提醒團隊。這樣可以確保當發現協力廠商代碼中存在漏洞時,團隊可以儘快生成並發佈修補程式。

威脅模組化

對系統或元件的任何設計或實作進行的系統化分析都是從可能存在的攻擊者的角度來執行。透過瞭解攻擊者可能採取的途徑、他們認為是漏洞的位置以及他們將使用哪些方法利用這些漏洞,從而確定威脅。每個威脅都有一定的風險等級,對其進行優先順序排列,以便能夠實施合適的控制手段、緩解措施或重新設計。

靜態分析

自動化工具用於分析原始程式碼,快速突出顯示任何編碼錯誤、漏洞、缺陷或弱式設計模式。除了自動化工具之外,我們也會在開發週期中練習將程式設計與人類程式碼檢閱和同儕檢閱進行比對。

內部安全性測試計劃

每個針對系統或元件工作的團隊都制定了全面的測試計劃。本計劃包括白箱和黑箱測試;裝置、整合和系統測試;程式碼涵蓋範圍、功能測試、模糊處理、使用案例測試等。

外部安全性測試

我們經常安排信譽良好的外部測試人員或滲透測試人員對我們的程式碼庫進行白箱測試,以識別我們尚未發現的威脅。

漏洞響應計劃

如果在我們的產品中發現漏洞,無論是透過內部測試、外部測試還是透過我們的漏洞回報獎勵計劃發現的,我們都會遵循相應的程序來快速響應任何漏洞,並且迅速開發修補程式或更新,確保品質後再予以發佈。

安全程式碼簽署

除了 Sophos Central 中端點軟體常用的簽署可執行檔外,我們還會在部署到面向客戶的系統之前利用程式碼簽署,以保證在簽署後不會發生程式碼修改或損壞。這可確保我們經過品質保證的程式碼與客戶接收和使用的程式碼相同。

Sophos Central 平台

Sophos Central 在跨多個虛擬機器執行個體和服務 Amazon Web Services 上進行託管,可動態調整以處理當前的 Sophos Central 工作負載。

當您建立 Sophos Central 帳戶時,系統會向您提供設定帳戶的區域選項。這些區域是完全獨立的,資料不會在它們之間移動。

目前,選項有德國、愛爾蘭和美國。Sophos Central 區域與 AWS 區域同義;EU-Central-1、EU-West-1、US-East-2 和 US-West-2。

Sophos Central 是雲端原生應用程式,它與我們的合作夥伴 Amazon 密切合作,以打造高可用性且耐用性的應用程式。所有資料都會在客戶選擇的區域以地理圍欄方式進行設定。在指定區域內,我們採用 Amazon 提供的跨多個資料中心(可用性區域)的複寫,以便在基礎結構層級出現故障時提供即時容錯移轉。所有客戶資料都會鎖定至某個區域,且無法跨區域傳輸。

Sophos Central 使用眾所周知且廣泛使用的行業標準軟體庫來避免常見漏洞(OWASP 前十名中的漏洞風險)。透過利用標準程式庫,我們可以從它們所面臨的高層級監督中受益,不僅是安全性,還包括穩定性。

1: Sophos Central 架構

網路安全

執行階段應用程式自我保護

除了防火牆等標準網路安全執行方式外,Sophos Central 還可使用執行階段應用程式自我保護 (RASP) 技術。作爲典型周邊防禦的替代方案,RASP 透過利用應用程式本身內部工作中的即時知識來監控輸入,以偵測和阻止 Sophos Central 中的攻擊。透過使用 RASP,Sophos Central 可以動態響應攻擊,防止受到惡意攻擊,並採取進一步措施,例如終止工作階段或提醒安全小組,始終保證客戶資料的安全。

自動調整虛擬網路

根據所執行的各種工作負載(例如驗證或端點管理),Sophos Central 被分段到許多邏輯上獨立的虛擬網路中。然後,所有工作負載都被放在負載平衡器後面的自動調整群組中,因此當特定工作負荷出現負載/流量增加時,可以向其分配額外的臨時資源,以便提供處理負載所需的群組容量。

網路存取控制清單

安全群組和網路存取控制清單使用最低權限準則來實現。根據預設,爲在 Sophos Central 中使用而建立的任何服務都被放置在非公開的子網路上,該子網路不會在虛擬網路之外公開。此外,除非 Sophos Central 基礎結構服務 (CIS) 小組明確要求並授予存取權限,否則該服務無權與其他服務進行通話。只有必須公開外部介面的服務才會獲得對外公開的介面。

資料庫存取

資料庫不會在網際網路上公開,只能在虛擬網路中存取,並且存放在與其他 Sophos Central 基礎結構不同的非公開子網路上。希望與任何資料庫互動的服務必須透過資料存取層 (DAL) 進行互動。有關 DAL 的更多資訊,請參閱本文件的「資料安全」部分。

維護存取

Sophos Central 的維護存取只能透過源自 Sophos IT 基礎結構中特定網路的 VPN 通道存取。即使使用憑證、金鑰和證書,也無法在 Sophos 網路外部建立通道。

DDoS 防護

分散式阻斷服務 (DDoS) 安全防護功能透過專屬 DDoS 防護技術、自動調整、系統監控和流量轉載來進行。

資料安全性

整合性

可用性

每項資料都儲存在資料庫叢集中,即至少三份。事件驅動的叢集複製至少具有三個複製因子,可確保即使我們的叢集中的兩個資料庫執行個體失敗,資料仍然可用。由於是事件驅動性質,任何資料庫變更都會立即推送到叢集中的所有執行個體,而不是依排程複製變更,確保即使執行個體發生故障,容錯移轉執行個體仍可以使用完整的資料集。

耐久性

資料庫的每個執行個體都有支援自己的存放磁碟區(每小時快照一次)。這些執行個體是暫時性,只保留存放磁碟區。由於有了叢集複製因子,我們能夠安心銷毀資料庫執行個體,而不必擔心資料丟失。我們可在不丟失資料的情況下,快速解決資料庫應用程式、作業系統等中的漏洞。

加密

所有待用資料都使用磁碟區層級加密進行加密 – 存放磁碟區、物件儲存體和虛擬機器的虛擬磁碟機。

對於敏感使用者資料,我們透過使用每欄位多部分金鑰,在存放磁碟區中使用欄位層級加密。這些部分由多個不同位置組成,包括一個金鑰管理系統。每個金鑰對每個客戶和每個欄位都是唯一的。

傳輸層級加密用於透過憑證和伺服器驗證來確保客戶端軟體和 Sophos Central 平台間的管理通訊安全。

Sophos 從不以純文字格式儲存或傳送使用者的密碼。當使用者註冊帳戶時,此新使用者必須在啟用過程中設定密碼。

Central Device Encryption

Sophos Central 裝置加密不會儲存加密金鑰,而是儲存 BitLocker 與 FileVault 加密磁碟區的修復金鑰。

儲存金鑰

在 Windows/Mac 端點上隨機生成修復密鑰。此修復金鑰已經過混淆處理,並透過我們的管理通訊系統 (MCS) 協定傳送至 Sophos Central,並受到傳輸層安全性 (TLS) 的保護。一旦到達 Sophos Central,修復金鑰就會被混淆處理並儲存在相關的存放磁碟區中。除了將修復金鑰儲存於加密的磁碟區上外,還使用 AES 對其進行透明加密。修復金鑰中繼資料不會與修復金鑰一起儲存。

存取金鑰

一旦管理員或使用者從資料庫(例如透過 Sophos Central 管理員或自助入口網站)中讀取修復金鑰,此修復金鑰將被標記爲「已過期」。當使用修復金鑰復原端點,且端點啟動並與 Sophos Central 同步時,系統會通知修復金鑰已過期。端點會產生新的修復金鑰,並將其傳送至 Sophos Central,如上所述。一旦 Sophos Central 確認收到新的修復金鑰,舊的修復金鑰就會在端點上失效,因此它無法再用。這樣可確保一個修復金鑰僅能使用一次。Sophos Central 中的修復金鑰永遠不會被刪除。

安全威脅防護

反惡意軟體

Sophos Central 的建構是為了讓所有機器都無需使用者,無需任何互動即可讓機器能夠鎖定並強化。機器是由原始來源所構建(部分歸功於我們安全數位程式碼簽署程序),而且只能作為建立機器黃金映像檔的一部分執行工程部門所指定的軟體。

同樣,對於資料庫伺服器執行個體,組成 Sophos Central 的機器可以隨時銷毀和重建,而不必擔心丟失資料。

修補程式

每 3 週,虛擬機器的黃金映像檔將升級爲最新的軟體庫和應用程式。虛擬機器執行個體不會存在超過 3 週,舊執行個體會被銷毀,新執行個體將基於新的黃金映像檔部署。

如果透過漏洞相依性架構、內部或外部測試、漏洞回報獎勵計劃或其他方式找到了漏洞,那麼作為漏洞防禦程序的一部分,系統會進行修補和重新部署。

安全監控和響應

Sophos 的全域安全小組可以全天候監控來自 Sophos Central 及其相關服務的所有記錄資料。Central 具有鑑定功能,可在資料外洩時迅速對事件做出響應。

合規性與外部稽核

SOC

Sophos 會定期進行 SOC Type 1 稽核,並可根據 NDA 提供存取報告的權限。SOC Type 2 稽核目前正在進行中。

滲透測試

我們會定期與信譽良好的協力廠商進行內部和外部滲透測試,並可根據 NDA 提供證明。

GDPR

您可在我們的網站查看有關 Sophos 的資料保護全球承諾的詳細介紹:

https://www.sophos.com/en-us/legal/sophos-gdpr.aspx.

客戶控制

多因素驗證 (MFA)

您可以為 Sophos Central 帳戶的所有管理員,管理員的子網路啟用 MFA,或完全停用 MFA。我們強烈建議使用 MFA,以確保在憑證外洩時,任何人均無法存取 Sophos Central 帳戶。

角色模式管理

可以將許多預先定義的系統管理角色指派給管理員,這些管理員可以限制對敏感記錄資料的存取,也可限制他們變更設定和組態。

威脅防護策略

根據威脅保護策略,管理員可以啓用或停用以下可展開或限制與 Sophos 即時共用資料磁碟區的設定。有關詳細資訊,請參閱本文件的「遙測和資料收集」部分。

即時防護

  • 使用即時防護從 SophosLabs 線上檢查最新的威脅資訊。
  • 在排程掃描期間使用即時防護
  • 自動提交惡意軟體樣本至 SophosLabs

即時掃描(網際網路)

  • 攔截存取惡意網站
  • 偵測低信譽檔案

校正

  • 啟用根本原因分析
  • 啟用快照檔案上傳

即時防護

  • 偵測網路資料流量以命令與控管伺服器

遙測和資料收集

有關我們收集和儲存資料的詳細資訊,請參見我們網站上的以下頁面:

Sophos Group 隱私策略

https://www.sophos.com/en-us/legal/sophos-group-privacy-policy.aspx.

SophosLabs 資訊安全性原則

https://www.sophos.com/en-us/legal/SophosLabs -information-security-policy.aspx.

Sophos Extensible List (SXL)

SXL 是我們爲裝置提供補充資料的協定,其中涵蓋來自 SophosLabs 的最新分類。該協定通常透過傳送雜湊、URL 或檔案至 SophosLabs 以及接收有關該 URL 或檔案進一步資訊的回應來執行。我們將此協定用於以下幾個功能:

網頁防護

保護使用者不會因瀏覽至已知裝載惡意程式碼或用於危險手段的網站而受到影響。

網頁控管

擷取最新的網站類別以用於端點上網站篩選。

即時防護

快速識別已知的惡意檔案,並在其執行前加以封鎖,以及識別並封鎖嘗試與已知危險主機進行的網路通訊。Live Protection 也用於確認下載檔案的信譽。

誤判安全防護功能

這是一種透過接收有關已知安全檔案的資訊來禁止誤判偵測的額外功能。

根本原因分析

Sophos Data Recorder (SDR) 是 Intercept X 的一部分,記錄了備註的所有系統活動。進行惡意行為偵測時,將使用 SDR 中的資料快照產生自動根本原因分析。記錄的資料用於關聯所有與偵測相關的所有活動(檔案、程序、登錄機碼、URL/IP 互動),並將這些資料上傳到 Sophos Central

除了根本原因之外,也可以上傳包含與根本原因類型相同的資料,但與惡意行為偵測無關的快照(預設為停用)。此功能主要用於支援或偵錯目的,或與工程部門共用資料以改進產品功能。

樣本提交

惡意檔案樣本可自動提交至 SophosLabs 以供進一步分析。目前只會保留惡意可攜式執行檔,而其他檔案類型則會安全地捨棄。

其他措施

SophosLabs 隔離

由於 SophosLabs 具有高度專屬的研究、開發和日常操作(例如調查最新的惡意威脅和開發機器學習模型)性質,因此 SophosLabs 與其他網路分離,以儘量減少出現漏洞的可能性。此外,所有惡意程式碼的執行、分析和研究都在單獨的隔離系統上執行,以防止感染。這些隔離工作可確保 Sophos Central 開發不會受到風險影響。

負責任的披露與漏洞回報獎勵計劃

Sophos 對獨立的研究人員社群有很大影響,它開展一項漏洞回報獎勵計劃,以獎勵研究人員的發現。如需瞭解詳細資訊,請參見 Sophos 負責任的披露政策:https://www.sophos.com/en-us/legal/sophos-responsible-disclosure-policy.aspx 以及我們的 BugCrowd 頁面:https://bugcrowd.com/sophos

Naked Security

Naked Security 是 Sophos 屢獲殊榮的安全新聞部落格,提供有關電腦安全問題和最新網際網路威脅的新聞、意見、建議和研究。

我們的記者和研究人員爲我們有關 Sophos Central 的工程工作帶來了另一種提供見解和改進建議的寶貴途徑。

法律聲明

Copyright © 2020 Sophos Limited.保留一切權利。本出版品任何部分不得以電子、機械、複印、錄影等方式複製、儲存於任何儲存媒體或傳佈,除非您具備有效的許可權,得依據許可權條款之規定複製文件手冊,或者以書面方式告知版權所有人,並獲得其授權許可,方能進行複製。

Sophos, Sophos Anti-VirusSafeGuard 皆為 Sophos Limited, Sophos GroupUtimaco Safeware AG 的註冊商標。此處所提及的所有其他產品與公司名稱,均為其各自所有人之商標或註冊商標。

Introduction

Since the day Sophos was founded, security has remained principal in everything we do; inside and out. This security-first approach is why hundreds of thousands of organizations secure hundreds of millions of devices with Sophos solutions.

Sophos Central is our flagship, cloud-based security platform, designed from the ground-up to deliver state-of-the-art security technology while ensuring customer data is protected effectively and comprehensively.

This document will take a detailed look into Sophos Central, its development, deployment, and maintenance as well as what data is collected, where it is stored, how that data is protected, and various other measures Sophos takes to provide the industry’s most advanced and fortified security platform.

Secure Development

Security begins at conception and should never be an after-thought. Key to this is Sophos’ activity-based Secure Development Lifecycle (SDL). The SDL procedurally enforces industry-leading best practices throughout the entirety of a product’s development.

The SDL also requires that all product development teams have an embedded security advocate and expert that drives these activities within their team. Below are a number of those activities with a brief explanation.

The purpose of each activity is to identify areas of risk before a product is released. This maximises the total possible time that an engineering team can have to address issues long before shipping products and services to customers.

Secure Coding

To guard against, and significantly reduce, accidental introduction of software vulnerabilities, engineers are trained to identify and avoid insecure coding practices and design patterns, leveraging more resilient designs in their place.

Vulnerability Dependency Framework

Where code from third-parties, such as open source software, is leveraged in products, each team maintains a list of third-party dependencies within a framework that automatically alerts the team if a CVE is published. This ensures the teams can produce and release a patch as quickly as possible in the event a vulnerability is found within third-party code.

Threat Modeling

Systematic analysis of any design or implementation of a system or component is performed from the perspective of a probable attacker. Threats are identified by looking at the avenues an attacker would take, what they would recognize as weaknesses, and what methods they would use to exploit it. A level of risk is assigned to each threat, enabling them to be prioritized, so that appropriate controls, mitigations, or redesigns can be put in place.

Static Analysis

Automated tools are used to analyse the source code, quickly highlighting any coding errors, vulnerabilities, flawed or weak design patterns. In addition to automated tools, we practice pair programming with human code reviews and peer reviews during the development cycle.

Internal Security Test Plans

An extensive test plan is developed by every team working on a system or component. This plan covers both white-box and black-box testing; unit, integration, and system tests; code coverage, functional testing, fuzzing, use case testing, and more.

External Security Testing

We regularly have reputable, external testers or penetration testers conduct white-box testing of our codebase to identify threats we haven’t found.

Vulnerability Response Plan

In the event that a vulnerability is found within our products, either via internal testing, external testing, or via our bug-bounty program, procedures are followed to rapidly respond to any vulnerability and a patch or update can be promptly developed, quality assured, and released.

Secure Code Signing

In addition to signing executables, which is common for endpoint software, in Sophos Central, we leverage code signing prior to deployment to customer-facing systems, to guarantee that no code modifications or corruptions occur after being signed. This ensures our quality assured code is the same code customers receive and use.

Sophos Central platform

Sophos Central is hosted on Amazon Web Services, across a number of virtual machine instances and services that dynamically scale to handle the current Sophos Central workload.

When you create a Sophos Central account, you will be provided with the choice of region where you set up your account. These regions are completely independent, and data is not moved between them.

At present, the options are Germany, Ireland, and the United States. Sophos Central regions are synonymous with AWS Regions; EU-Central-1, EU-West-1, US-East-2 and US-West-2.

Sophos Central is a cloud native application and has worked deeply with our partner Amazon to build a highly available and durable application. All data is geo-fenced in the customer selected region. Within that region we employ replication across multiple data centers (availability zones), provided by Amazon, to provide seemly failover in the event of infrastructure-level failures. All customer data is locked to a region and cannot be transferred across regions.

Sophos Central uses well-known, widely used, and industry standard software libraries to mitigate common vulnerabilities (covered in the OWASP Top Ten). By leveraging standard libraries, we benefit from the high level of scrutiny they face not just in terms of security but stability as well.

Figure: Sophos Central Architecture

Physical Security

As the physical infrastructure for Sophos Central is maintained by Amazon, there is a separation of responsibilities. In brief, Amazon take responsibility for security of the cloud itself, and Sophos take responsibility for security in the cloud. The AWS Shared Responsibility Model details these responsibilities: https://aws.amazon.com/compliance/shared-responsibility-model/

For details on what steps Amazon takes to secure the infrastructure and services they offer, see their security whitepaper: https://d1.awsstatic.com/whitepapers/Security/AWS_Security_Whitepaper.pdf

Network Security

Runtime Application Self-Protection

In addition to standard network security practices such as firewalling, Sophos Central uses Runtime Application Self-Protection (RASP) technology. As an alternative to a typical perimeter defense, RASP monitors inputs to detect and block attacks on Sophos Central by leveraging real-time knowledge from within the inner workings of the application itself. By using RASP, Sophos Central can dynamically respond to attacks, preventing exploitation, and take further actions such as terminating a session or alerting security teams, keeping customer data secured at all times.

Auto-Scaling Virtual Networks

Sophos Central is segmented into a number of logically separate virtual networks based on the various workloads they perform (such as authentication or endpoint management). All workloads are then placed into auto-scaling groups, behind a load balancer, so that when a particular workload sees increased load/traffic, additional, temporary resources can be allocated to give the group capacity to handle the load.

Network Access Control Lists

Security Groups and Network Access Control Lists are in place using the principle of least privilege. By default, any service that is built for use in Sophos Central is placed on a private subnet that is not exposed outside of the virtual network. Additionally, services are not given permission to talk to other services unless explicitly needed and access has been granted by the Sophos Central Infrastructure Services (CIS) team. Only services that must expose an external interface are given a public-facing interface.

Database Access

Databases are not exposed to the internet, are only accessible within the virtual network, and are kept on separate, private subnets from the other Sophos Central infrastructure. Services wishing to interact with any database must do so through the Data Access Layer (DAL). More on the DAL can be found in the Data Security section of this document.

Maintenance Access

Maintenance access to Sophos Central is only available via a VPN tunnel originating from a specific network within Sophos’ IT infrastructure. The tunnel cannot be established outside of Sophos’ network even with credentials, keys, and certs.

DDoS Protections

Distributed Denial of Service (DDoS) mitigations are made via dedicated DDoS protection technologies, autoscaling, system monitoring, and traffic shedding.

Data Security

Integrity

Availability

Every piece of data is stored in database clusters that is, at a minimum, triplicated. Event-driven clustered replication, with a replication factor of at least three, ensures two database instances in our cluster can fail and data will still remain available. Being event-driven, any database change is immediately pushed to all instances in the cluster, rather than changes being replicated on a schedule, making sure that even when an instance fails, the full dataset is available on failover instances.

Durability

Each instance of a database is supported with its own storage volume which is snapshotted hourly. These instances are transient, with only the storage volumes persisting. This enables us to destroy database instances without fear of data loss thanks to the cluster replication factors. Vulnerabilities in database applications, operating systems etc can be rapidly addressed without data loss.

Encryption

All data at rest is encrypted using volume-level encryption – storage volumes, object storage, and virtual drives of virtual machines.

For sensitive user data, we use field-level encryption within storage volumes using a per-field multi-part key. These parts are formed from several different locations, including a key management system. Each key is unique to every customer, and every field.

Transport-level encryption is used to secure management communication between the client software and Sophos Central platform via certificates and server validation.

Sophos never stores nor sends users’ passwords in plain text. When a user signs up for an account, this new user must set a password as part of the activation process.

Central Device Encryption

Sophos Central Device Encryption does not store encryption keys but, instead, recovery keys for BitLocker and FileVault-encrypted volumes.

Storing Keys

A recovery key is randomly generated on the Windows/Mac endpoints. This recovery key is obfuscated and sent to Sophos Central via our Management Communication System (MCS) protocol, protected with Transport Layer Security (TLS). Once it has reached Sophos Central, the recovery key is deobfuscated and stored in the relevant storage volume. The recovery key is transparently encrypted using AES, in addition to residing on an encrypted volume. Recovery key metadata is not stored alongside the recovery key.

Accessing Keys

As soon as an admin or user reads a recovery key from the database (such as via the Sophos Central Admin or Self Service Portal), this recovery key is marked as ‘expired’. When the recovery key is used to recover an endpoint, and the endpoint boots and synchronizes with Sophos Central, it is informed the recovery key is expired. The endpoint generates a new recovery key and sends this to Sophos Central as detailed above. Once Sophos Central confirms it has received the new recovery key, the old recovery key is invalidated on the endpoint so that it no longer can be used. This ensures that recovery keys can only be used once. Recovery keys are never deleted in Sophos Central.

Threat Protection

Anti-Malware

Sophos Central is architected so that all machines are user-less, requiring no interaction, allowing machines to be locked down and hardened. Machines are built from pristine sources, thanks in part to our secure digital code signing process, and only execute the prescribed software from engineering as part of creating the machine gold image.

Similarly, to database server instances, machines that comprise Sophos Central can be destroyed and rebuilt at any time without data loss.

Patching

Every 3 weeks, the gold images for virtual machines are upgraded with the latest software libraries and applications. No virtual machine instance exists for longer than 3 weeks, with old instances being destroyed and new instances deployed based on the new gold images.

Should a vulnerability be found via the vulnerability dependency framework, internal or external testing, bug bounty program, or other means, patching and redeployment take place as part of the vulnerability response program.

Security Monitoring and Response

Sophos’ global security team monitor all logging data from Sophos Central and its related services 24/7/365. Central has forensic capabilities in the event of a data breach for rapid incident response.

Compliance and external audits

SOC

Sophos regularly undergoes SOC Type 1 auditing and can provide access to the report under NDA. SOC Type 2 auditing is currently in progress.

Penetration testing

We regularly conduct both internal and external penetration testing with reputable third-parties and can provide attestation under NDA.

GDPR

Sophos’ global commitment to data protection is detailed on our website:

https://www.sophos.com/en-us/legal/sophos-gdpr.aspx.

Customer Controls

Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA)

MFA can be enabled for all administrators of a Sophos Central account, a subset of administrators, or disabled completely. We strongly recommend the use of MFA to ensure that, in the event of credentials becoming compromised, Sophos Central account access is not possible.

Role-Based Administration

A number of pre-defined administrative roles can be assigned to admins that can restrict access to sensitive log data as well as restrict them from making changes to settings and configurations.

Threat Protection Policy

Within a Threat Protection policy, an admin can enable or disable the following settings that expand or restrict the volume of data shared real-time with Sophos. Please see the Telemetry and Data Gathering section of this document for more detail.

Live Protection

  • Use Live Protection to check the latest threat information from SophosLabs online.
  • Use Live Protection during scheduled scans
  • Automatically submit malware samples to SophosLabs

Real-time scanning (Internet)

  • Block access to malicious websites
  • Detect low-reputation files

Remediation

  • Enable Root Cause Analysis
  • Enable Snapshot file upload

Runtime Protection

  • Detect network traffic to command and control servers

Telemetry and Data Gathering

Full details on the data we gather and store are detailed on the following pages of our website:

Sophos Group Privacy Policy

https://www.sophos.com/en-us/legal/sophos-group-privacy-policy.aspx.

SophosLabs Information Security Policy

https://www.sophos.com/en-us/legal/SophosLabs -information-security-policy.aspx.

Sophos Extensible List (SXL)

SXL is our protocol to provide supplementary data to devices, covering up-to-the-minute classifications from SophosLabs. This is typically performed by sending a hash, a URL, or file to SophosLabs and by receiving a response with further information on that URL or file. We use this protocol for several features:

Web Protection

Protects users from browsing to websites known to be hosting malicious code or used for dangerous means.

Web Control

Fetching the latest website category for use in on-endpoint web filtering.

Live Protection

Quickly identifying known malicious files and blocking them before they can execute as well as identifying and blocking attempted network communication to known-bad hosts. Live Protection is also used to ascertain the reputation of downloaded files.

False Positive Mitigation

Additional capability to suppress false positive detections via receiving information on known good files.

Root Cause Analysis

Sophos Data Recorder (SDR), part of Intercept X, logs all system activity of note. When a malicious detection is made, an automatic root cause analysis is generated using a snapshot of data from the SDR. The recorded data is used to correlate all activities related to the detection (files, processes, registry keys, URLs/IPs interactions) and upload these to Sophos Central.

In addition to root causes, snapshots can also be uploaded (disabled by default) which contain the same kinds of data as in a root cause but unrelated to the malicious detection. This feature is used primarily for support or debugging purposes, or to share data with engineering for product feature improvement.

Sample Submission

Malicious file samples can be submitted to SophosLabs automatically for further analysis. Currently, only malicious portable executables are retained, with other filetypes securely discarded.

Additional Measures

SophosLabs Isolation

Given the nature of the highly proprietary research, development, and daily operations within SophosLabs (such as investigating the latest malicious threats and development of machine learning models), SophosLabs is separated from other networks to minimize the the possibility of breaches. Additionally, all malware execution, analysis, and research is performed on separate, isolated systems to prevent infection. These isolation efforts ensure Sophos Central development is not exposed to risk.

Responsible Disclosure and Bug Bounty Programs

Sophos has a strong presence in the independent researcher community and runs a bug bounty program to reward researchers for their findings. Full details can be found in the Sophos Responsible Disclosure Policy: https://www.sophos.com/en-us/legal/sophos-responsible-disclosure-policy.aspx as well as our BugCrowd page: https://bugcrowd.com/sophos

Naked Security

Naked Security is Sophos’ award-winning security news blog that provides news, opinion, advice and research on computer security issues and the latest internet threats.

Our journalists and researchers provide another valuable avenue for insights and suggested improvements to our engineering efforts of Sophos Central.

Legal notices

Copyright © 2019 Sophos Limited. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted, in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise unless you are either a valid licensee where the documentation can be reproduced in accordance with the license terms or you otherwise have the prior permission in writing of the copyright owner.

Sophos, Sophos Anti-Virus and SafeGuard are registered trademarks of Sophos Limited, Sophos Group and Utimaco Safeware AG, as applicable. All other product and company names mentioned are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners.